Discover our cultural heritage
- Parc des Garennes
- Château de Brissac and its park
- Château de Montsabert
- Prieuré de Saint Remy la Varenne
History lovers, we welcome you to the land of blue schist more commonly known as Slate. The intercommunal park located in our beautiful town of Juigné-sur-Loire is an old quarry slates which covers 27 hectares.
Open to the public, this ecosystem allows walkers, families and joggers to enjoy a moment of tranquility in a tormented area dominated by centuries-old hardwoods and conifers. The floristic diversity of the site is derived from the nature of the soil and specific microclimatic conditions. The mounds of schistous embankment store the heat and allow the development of a flora of the Mediterranean type (eg. Lebanon cedar, Corsican pine, moss and lichen …). The funds have turned into peatlands containing protected species or bogs inhabited by a diverse fauna.
History tells us that these open quarries were used for the construction of the Gallo-Roman road from Les Ponts-de-Cé to Juigné-sur-Loire. In the twelfth century, slate was extracted for the sizing of piles and stakes of vine, but also for the construction and coverage of more than 10 000 houses.
It has also been used in the construction and coverage of these other buildings: – 1348, reconstruction of the Beaufort-en-Vallée castle – 1367, repair of the castle of Angers – 1666, reconstruction of the city of London following the terrible fire that ravaged it
Exploited until the revolution, the deposits will only be able to extract, over time, only slates of insufficient quality.Therefore, stone was used to build walls until the end of the 19th century.
Want more? A hiking trail will take you to the left bank of the Loire. For the brave, we invite you to cross our vineyard and discover the evolution of the grapes during the year.
Highest castle in France, with its 7 floors and 204 rooms, the Château de Brissac deserves its nickname “Giant of the Loire Valley”. Acquired in 1502 by René de Cossé, first lord of Brissac, it is now the residence of the 13th Duke of Brissac. It remains open to visitors as there is a lot to contemplate.
Must see: – its 16th century chapel and its belle époque theater – its dazzling decor composed of golden ceilings, tapestries and precious furniture – its park offers magnificent views in the shade of ancient trees
The castle is visitable only on guided tour. The Park is open to visit for a single ticket, or for a guided tour of the Château including the visit of the Castle Park. Picnicking is prohibited in the Castle Park, but there is a picnic area nearby.
CHÂTEAU DE BRISSAC
Grounded on the foundations of an 11th and 12th century building, Montsabert Castle was built by the Laval family in the 13th century. In the 15th century, the castle became a fortress on the initiative of Bertrand du Guesclin to contain the English. The castle is then put to the taste of the Renaissance with the construction of the loggia, the elevation of the interior walls of the courtyard and the false balustrade. Late 17th century, the windows were enlarged, the orangery and the chapel built. The south rampart was razed to make way for a terrace with French gardens.
CHÂTEAU DE MONTSABERT
152, route de Montsabert Coutures 49320 BRISSAC-LOIRE-AUBANCE Tél.02 41 57 91 21